rest in peace, satoshi kon

August 25, 2010

If you know me for quite a long time in real life, you’ll find out that I hate all the japanese anime craze in my campus. I found such publicly displayed obsession to girl with Death Star-sized eyeballs and 10 millimeters short skirt is outrageously ridiculous. I’m not kidding, we even have a classic true story of such weirdness: my friend witnessed that a member of our campus’ japanese anime and manga fans club is running through the rain with a ninja pose in the middle of our campus boulevard.

yes, exactly like this.

this Studio Ghibli movie can crush your soul.

Hey, I’m entitled of hating at least one community at campus right? I also don’t like korean-pop things that took the whole harddisk space on our servers by storm, but that’s another story. This time, I’ll share you about something that I do like. I enjoy reading some manga, actually. One Piece, Great Teacher Onizuka, and Kindaichi are my all-time favorites for their ridiculously funny stories. Serial anime, hm. Ghost in The Shell and Cowboy Bebop FTW. You can’t force me to dislike psychological sci-fi detective and space cowboys with jazz music. Big screen? who wouldn’t love Hayao Miyazaki’s Studio Ghibli otherworldly masterpieces. A good friend of mine even asked him to be her grandpa. We’re in competition, buddy: I, too, also want a grandpa who draws flying tanks and moving castles. To all Ghibli fans: you all smiled too when you see Totoro in Toy Story 3, right?

Sadly, yesterday we lost a genius in this increasingly dull landscape of cartoonish dreams. Satoshi Kon, the genius behind Tokyo Godfather and Paprika, died after losing battle with cancer. He was 47 years old. Word of mournings are pouring in the Slashfilm article as i write this. Tokyo Godfather is on my must-watch list every Christmas in Animax back then when I still live in Jakarta. Really great anime about love and compassion in Christmas night. Don’t bother rewatching Home Alone 1-4 (as I regrettably did before I’m interested with Satoshi Kon’s works).  Paprika, on the other hand, is mindbogglingly bizarre. If you have watched Inception and loved it, you definitely should watch Paprika. You’ll see what I found lacking in Inception: psychedelic dreams.  There’s no levels or limbo or structured architecture in Paprika, and that’s what some dreams are: just weird. Sadly, I haven’t watched Perfect Blue. I hope his 2011-bound The Dream Machine will be released eventually. In the mean time, I guess I’ll watch your movie and hoped that people like you will always be here for a long time to come.

A scene from Paprika.

Rest in peace, Satoshi Kon.
Thanks for the cinematic dreams.

One Response to “rest in peace, satoshi kon”

  1. am gonna watch Paprika sometime this week!

Leave a Reply

