the race

November 12, 2010

I’ve got a really bad habit.

I used to be the “silent majority”. I’m not outspoken, I prefer to mind my own business and life. I don’t like to talk out loud, I prefer to listen. Listening to noises, listening to stories. I always deliver a muted response to anything, especially this year. It’s not a good year at all. As happy as I am right now, it’s important to remember what really destroys this year: races.

Now you may recognize this boring tone, but it’s true: I don’t do much. Thanks for the compliment, but all I had done is really a couple of one-hit wonders. Thanks for the reputation, but although it does brighten my days ultimately it doesn’t really matter. You do know the feeling of winning smaller races and gradually losing the bigger ones, eh? Every person is both a winner and a loser at any given time or context. For better or for worse, every people have to know where he or she stands at any given time. Some people lose track. I lose track sometimes. This is one of those times.

I’m not…greedy. It used to be the race that I want that matters. Not anymore.
I guess it really is the time to losing these races to have a better year ahead,
and to get into the bigger one.

This post is written after I saw one of my very best mentor got accepted at McKinsey, my closest friend is already building a business empire, my old pal just demonstrated their Minority Report-esque touchscreen table, and a lot of my friend already got a stable and happy relationship.

Guess I haven’t figured out ways to get those kind of major happiness out of this wrecked mind of mine.

Leave a Reply

